Roverforce Forums - The driving force behind MG Rover ownership

It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:46 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: tyre choice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:08 pm 

My Location: blackpool,lancs
My Car: '03 r45 1.8 connie
can anyone recommend 15" tyres suitable for my '03 1.8 R45? The Continental eco-contacts i have on it now feel vague at motorway speeds,not helped by the,imho,over light steering.all suggestions are welcome.ty.

Post subject: Re: tyre choice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:33 pm 

My Location: rainford
My Car: rover 200 wedge
i have been using falkens for the last 15 years. good in all weather conditions, well priced, and long lasting.
i have had them on many 280bhp + cars and they have never let me down.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:03 am 
Site Admin

My Location: Southport, UK
My Car: Rover 75 CDTi
What's your budget? :)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:43 pm 

My Location: blackpool,lancs
My Car: '03 r45 1.8 connie
thanks for your replies. i can afford up to £80 per tyre although the Falken ZE914 at £64 fitted seems like good value.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:55 pm 

My Location: Birmingham
My Car: Rover 45
I've had good results from Toyo Proxes T1-R on my previous R8 Rover 214SEi - In the wet, I almost felt sorry for the people behind me, lost in the spray from all the water the tyres were shifting! I did have to slow down to an indicated 85 when the rain got really heavy. I'm currently running Conti Winter Contact (yes, I know it's not winter - I can't afford summer tyres at the moment), and they're fine on the motorway at moderate speeds a little slower than mentioned above, although I do tend to back off a little more in the wet these days.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:44 am 

My Location: South Wales
My Car: MG ZS+ 120 Saloon
I'll be getting new tyres soon (205/50/16)
Any recommendations for this size?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:36 pm 

My Location: rainford
My Car: rover 200 wedge